Woodard Properties presents RAGTIME

At the dawn of the 20th century, the world is changing, and America feels the growing pains. RAGTIME, based on E.L. Doctorow’s epic novel, weaves together three distinctly American tales—a determined Jewish immigrant and his daughter, a young Harlem pianist who dares to seek justice, and an affluent wife stifled by upper-class society. Brought together by the promise of a brighter future, the characters confront wealth and poverty, freedom and prejudice, love and despair, and show us the tenacity and enduring idealism of Americans.

Learn More! Read our Study Guide! Click Here!

Composer Stephen Flaherty and Lyricist Lynn Ahrens bring us a Tony-winning score that draws upon many styles, from the boogie-woogie rhythms of Harlem to the klezmer of the Lower East Side, from bold brass band marches to gospel anthems.

Please Note:  This production of RAGTIME includes explicit, racially charged language, violence, and several loud gunshots.

We can only dream of a musical that brings as much realism and poetry to the picture as RAGTIME (4 of 4 stars).
USA Today

  • Based on the Novel by E.L. Doctorow
  • Directed by Ike Anderson
  • Musical Direction by Kristin Baltes
  • Choreography by Heather Powell
  • Sponsored by Alexander Nicholson
  • Book by Terrence McNally
  • Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
  • Music by Stephen Flaherty


Join us on October 4th and support the new season as we kick off our 28th year of Forging Theater and Community with an exclusive black-tie dinner and preview performance of RAGTIME!

Production Team

  • Producer… Bob Button
  • Director… Ike Anderson
  • Assistant Director… Adrienne Oliver
  • Production Stage Manager… Scott Dunn
  • Assistant Stage Manager… Katie Rogers
  • Production Assistant… Ezra Pooser
  • Music Director… Kristin Baltes
  • Choreographer… Heather Powell
  • Assistant Choreographer… Mariko Schaper Doktor
  • Dance Captain… Lindsay Goodrich
  • Fight Choreographer… Larry Friedland
  • Scenic Designer… Jeff Bushman
  • Lighting Designer… Steven Reid
  • Light Board Technician… Dave Goldstein
  • Light Board Technician… Jackie Lichtman
  • Sound Designer… Mike Moxham
  • Sound Board Technician… Elayne Phillips
  • Costume Designer… Cee-Cee Swalling
  • Costume Assistant… Katherine Stefl
  • Dresser… Jessica Dubuque
  • Dresser… Emma Gonder
  • Dresser… Ann Forno
  • Hair/Makeup Designer… Laura Slack
  • Hair/Makeup Consultant… Erica Haskins
  • Properties Designer… Mimi Halpern
  • Properties Mentor… Kerry Moran
  • Lead Rigger… Brian Gibney
  • Scenic charge… Fran Smith
  • Scenic charge… Daryl Bray
  • Dramaturg, Black experience… Shelby Marie Edwards
  • Dramaturg, Immigrant Experience… Geri Schirmer
  • Dramaturg, White Experience… Michael Swanberg
  • Creative Collaborator… Tim McNamara
  • Spot Operator… Skye Devlin
  • Spot Operator… Kyle Ezer
  • Spot Operator… Gabriel Komisar


  • Kristin Baltes, Musical Director, Piano
  • Kip McCharen, Piano
  • Rob Dunnenberger, Drums
  • Robert Gregg, Reeds


  • Aly Brookland – Mother
  • Max Bulinski – Harry Houdini
  • Ernest Chambers – Booker T. Washington
  • Ginger Craghead-Way – Little Girl (performs: Oct. 3,5,10,12,14,18,20,24,26; Nov. 2,3)
  • Mirabelle Metcalfe – Little Girl (performs: Oct. 4,6,11,13,17,19,21,25,27; Nov. 1)
  • Violet Craghead-Way – Little Boy (performs: Oct. 4,6,10,12,14,18,20,25,27; Nov. 2,3)
  • Miranda Powell – Little Boy (preforms: Oct. 3,5,11,13,17,19,21,24,26; Nov. 1)
  • Jim Wynton – Coalhouse Walker, Jr.
  • Chris Estey – Tateh
  • Liz Leone – Evelyn Nesbit
  • Deandra McDonald – Sarah
  • Tim McNamara – Grandfather
  • Boomie Pedersen – Emma Goldman
  • Tim Read – Father
  • Edward Warwick White – Henry Ford, Willie Conklin
  • Gary Warwick White – Younger Brother
  • Mick Anderson – Ensemble
  • Mackie Boblette – Ensemble
  • Cadessa Davis – Ensemble
  • Deanna Dellaganna – Ensemble
  • Jeff Dreyfus – Ensemble
  • Kristen Gleason – Ensemble
  • Lindsay Goodrich – Ensemble
  • Edwina Herring – Ensemble
  • Thad Lane – Ensemble
  • Chante Mack – Ensemble
  • Shannon Montague – Ensemble
  • Emma Shirey – Ensemble
  • David Vaughn Straughn – Ensemble
  • Khadijah Williams – Ensemble